CoaxCopters: A long journey from a concept to enjoyable flights

Back in December 2020, I was immensely inspired by the first 12.5km flight of Starship SN8. I realized that those three green motors, which had been shipped to me instead of four by mistake, can be used for a CoaxCopter.

So my journey began, with a lot of trial-and-error, but also with a lot of fun. Here are my “prototypes” built so far, ranging from those which could not leave the ground to those which are nearly fun to fly FPV.

4 Likes

CX2: Coaxial Copter, vehicle 2
Lifespan: March 2021, disassembled on March 13th.

This is my first attempt to build a coaxial copter. The reason why its number is 2 is simple: the first one, CX1, was, so to speak, a production pathfinder, and consisted of two motor plates of the “theta” shape made of plywood. After trying it the hard way, I concluded that the future is with additive technologies, and bought a large 3D-printer.

As usual with coaxial copters, it features a pair of motors with propellers rotating in different directions, and a pair of flaps controlled by servos. Those were installed on a 3D-printed frame, whose base essentially consisted of two theta-shaped 5mm-thick plates, or “thrust pucks”, which were bolted together and equipped with assorted arms and mounting surfaces to hold servos, flaps, batteries and other equipment.

As I was not really thinking of any kind of blogging, I didn’t make any high-quality photos or videos at that time. The following video that summarizes the design is based on three low-quality photos made on the first day of tests.