CC3D Revolution Mini and OP GPS -> no gps?

Hi all. I’m trying to move from LibrePilot to Ardupilot, so I’ve installed the 4.0.3 (last stable) version of the firmware into a CCD3D Revolution Mini using the “bootloader” version of the firmware image.

Flashing was goood anf I’m able to connect the Revo Mini to Mission planner using USB and see the data from the sensors and RC.

I’ve connected the “OP GPS” to Flexy port too but I always get “NO GPS” message on mission planner.

I’m missing some configuration or there is some known compatibility problems ?

Thanks for support.

Hi all, I’d like to point out that I’m a noob so no hint will be too obvious :slight_smile:

I’ve checked the configuration and I see that GPS is set as “AUTO” both for presence and protocols, but always there is “no gps” message.

Welcome here Fulvio :slight_smile:
I came from Open/Libre like a year ago for a sail project using a Revo mini.
It does work with a GPS, but maybe not necessarily the OP GPS unit.
You may need to look for a another unit that clearly indicates what the separate connectors are used for.

I think we were a bit spoiled over there since we got both gps and external mag to work with just one connection with 4 wires. Here I have so far found no other way than to connect the gps to serial 3 (2 wires) and then the external mag via i2c (2 wires) and then of course you need 5V and ground wires, total 6 wires.

Make sure the gps on the Flexi port is configured on mission planner as Serial3, as described in the specs here. https://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-openpilot-revo-mini.html

Good luck!

Hi Karl, thanks for feedback.

The OP GPS is a GPS only device (no compass) so it has 1 serial (rx-tx) and no more ports.

Using Mission Planner I’ve checked the configuration of SERIAL3:

Did anyone use an OP GPS with an CC3D Revolution Mini?
Thanks

That configuration looks fine to me.
The problem I think is the OP GPS, its pretty outdated now and uses OP protocol.