Building a rover/mower, UM982 GPS RTK inaccuracy

hi All,

I’m new to the ardupilot world and excited to post my first topic.
Not sure if Rover 4.4 is the right place, but since I’m using 4.4.0-beta1, here it goes.

I built an arduino based RC mower last year and recently wanted to upgrade it to use GPS RTK and be autonomous. Similar to Yuri’s (ArduRover 4.1.0-dev Mower w/GPS Yaw - YouTube)

I started with pixhawk 6c and two ZED-F9P (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/18292) modules, one being stationary (GitHub - Stefal/rtkbase: Your own GNSS base station for RTK localization with a Web GUI, http://rtk2go.com:2101/SNIP::MOUNTPT?baseName=NJ_east) and one on the rover. Quickly I noticed that the built-in compass on pixhawk6C was not working properly likely due to it’s inside a metal enclosure or close to several DC motors regularly pulling 30+ amps.

Decided to switch to GPS YAW, I saw holybro recently released their new um982 based internal GPS+YAW (H-RTK Unicore UM982 (Dual Antenna) – Holybro). After a bit googling and found GPS was a newly added to rover 4.4, I uploaded rover 4.4.0-beta1 and got GPS and compass reported in MS.

However, now I’m facing a problem:
The GPS position from UM982 seems not accurate and moves quite a lot, mostly several meters even it shows RTK FIXED and the mower is not moving at all. As a comparison, when I was testing with ZED-F9P, the GPS position was dead steady with only 1 or 2 cm movement. My question is how to identify the root cause of the inaccuracy? UM982 ? antennas? or something else?

the rover is facing north and being stationary.

the MP shows

if I zero turn the rover 360 degrees and facing north again. The orientation somehow turned upside down.

Also, I noticed if I leave the rover stationary for a minute or two, the GPS position seems to become stable and accurate.

took a quick video showing the position inaccuracy (please forgive my voice, having a cold)

configs
configs.param (14.6 KB)

1 Like