BeagleBone Blue Ardurover 4.1

Good day everybody

I have limited knowledge of Linux and robotics

I have a BeagleBone Blue with Ardupilot, Ardurover 4.1 compiled on it using the procedure as described here Configuring Beagle Bone Blue as Flight Controller Unit - Building drones around Beagle Bone Blue

I am building an Autonomous Rover with skid steer that will be navigated by a low cost precise navigation device to 8 precisely surveyed and post processed points. The rover is equipped with a Raspberry Pi 3 fitted with a camera. The camera is down looking and the lens centre is aligned with the center of the GPS antenna. The down looking camera will record the track of the Rover, this video will be synchronised to a video recording of the whole operation. The Rover will also pause at each point and record a couple of images. The purpose of this is to determine the accuracy of navigation by measuring the distance from the photo center to the pin center as captured.

Everything went smoothly and Ardupilot compiled successfully and everything worked being able to test the 6V DC motors and encoders using Robot Control Library command rc_test _motors –s 0.5 however Ardupilot does not seem to support these ports or dc motors with quadrature encoders. I then decided to use the PWM rail for the motors. It turns out that the inclusion of the overlay “sudo sed -i ‘s|#uboot_overlay_pru=/lib/firmware/AM335X-PRU-UIO-00A0.dtbo|uboot_overlay_pru=/lib/firmware/AM335X-PRU-UIO-00A0.dtbo|g’ /boot/uEnv.txt” to the /boot/uEnv.txt file prevents the PRU and RPROC drivers to be loaded preventing you from using the PWM rail

Disabling the overlay in the /boot/uEnv.txt file loads the drivers but bring problems of its own

The navigation device only has a USB port and worked perfectly connected to ttyACM0 before disabling the overlay

But after disabling the overlay the GPS is no longer seen by Mission Planner