BadOptFlow Health/No Readings on VL53L0X

Hi everyone! I am a wee beginner to this, and have spent many hours of fun setting up my drone with my PX4 with no troubles at all until now:

I searched for many hours and couldn’t find a solution to my error, so thought I would turn to you all…I’ve got the VL53L0X hooked up to my i2c port via a splitter (has to share with the GPS) and I’ve never managed to get the Pixhawk to recognize it. I’ve even tried unhooking the GPS and plugging the VL53L0X directly into the i2C line without the splitter with the same result.

I followed the instructions on all the settings under Config/Tuning in Mission Planner EXACTLY and still can’t get any readings on “sonarrange” or “sonarvoltage”. I am fairly sure I wired it up exactly right, so doubt that’s the problem. I have NO IDEA how to troubleshoot this.

I have the RNGFND_TYPE as 16, the RNGFND_ADDR as 41, the SCAILING as 1, the min and max set to 5 and 120, and the GNDCLEAR at 10 (which is actually close to where I have it set up temporarily on my frame). I followed the instructions HERE.

Sorry for the dumb question. As I said, I’ve been teaching myself how to use the Pixhawk over the last month or so and got stuck on this one.

And after redoing all my wiring now it works! BUT…it still gives me Bade OptFlow Health.

So, a few items, first I think you have a px4flow optical flow board? You state px4, and that’s the name of a flight controller. easy to confuse but a very different thing.

You talk about the VL53L0X. I think this a lidar rangefinder? I did find some specs for that, my concern is the maximum device range was listed at 2000 millimeters, 2 meters. That’s not much help for a drone.

So bad lidar health is a common issue. Read the support blogs. But first:

1. It is recommended by most that you do not power the lidar or px4flow from the i2c bus, but rather use an independent BEC for clean adequate power.