AUTOTUNE help and advice for 47" 67kg quad

Hello everyone. We have made such a big drone for carrying heavy payload to the higher point at the urban districts. We have tried it with dji A3 flight controller, it flies good with A3. But we need fully autonomous flight, so we have bought CUAV x7 pro and Neo 3 GPS Module. Now we need help for tune this little baby for good flight with x7 pro Controller. I have some experience with autotune, but haven’t done with such a big 220 sm and 67 kg drone. My max size have been 100 sm (dji s1000).

As usual this drone didn’t fly with stock pids. I played manualy with pids a little bit and then it took off. At the moment i only can fly several meters above with little stick inputs at STABILIZE mode but have’t try Althold and Loiter. I have read Tuning Process Instructions and AutoTune from the ardupilot.org but real experience always can be different. So prio AutoTune what settings i must exactly change for this little 67kg drone? such as filter settings and other settings. I need your help and experience. We dont want to crash our dreamliner :slight_smile:

our setup is this:
220 sm custom made carbon frame and carbon arms
T-motor U15L kv43
T-motor 300A esc
T-motor 47x18 propeller
24S 44000 mah lipo battery
AUW with battery and without payload: 67 kg

1 Like

Do all the steps in the documentation and post a .bin file with LOG_DISARMED = 1 before doing the first flight

how can i post that bin file to the flight controller?

Use something like wetransfer.com

We have done autotune with stock parameters, without any changes in gyro and accelerometer filters. We only changed aggressiveness from 0.05 to 0.07. The result is not bad for this heavy guy. Roll and pitch is good but we have a big problem with yaw. When we give a little bit fast stick movement to the drone and release stick, it behaviors as in the video. It oscillates several times and stops, as if wants to fall but doest fall.

VIDEO LINK: