Autonomous with no ground station?

Please help! I’m new to this field other than doing a bit of flying with COTS things (Blade Nano CPS mostly). I’m now in a team of 5 doing a project for a final MEng module and we’re set to design an autonomous drone!
This is no ordinary drone.
It has a 100km range, weighs in at 130kg, powered by 2x 12kW electric motors. I suppose it’s mostly like a fixed wing but is more UFO shaped (but that’s another argument!).

What I’m trying to find out is how to navigate it. The plan was to stick a rugged Android phone inside and let that control everything. I’m now thinking I’ll at least need some other hardware like an APM board. But the biggest question is about the true autonomy side of things. We need to be able to select a location on the phone, stick it to the drone and launch it and let it fly there with no ground control station of any kind.

Is that a thing? Have I missed it somewhere? All my searching comes back to having a ground station and/or someone with a transmitter within range.

I’m ignoring the law at the moment as well :smiley: , we have another team member looking into regulatory stuff, I’ve just got to assume we can fly anywhere at the moment.

Have a look at this and see if it changes your mind about not having a ground station.

http://www.dragonlinkrc.com/

A ground station can be a smart phone or tablet or a collection of impressive hardware.And autonomous has several meanings.Truly autonomous and the drone would be making decisions for itself.A programmed in mission can look as though it is autonomous but is just playing a pre-recorded flight path.You have to program everything in correctly beforehand.Using a Pixhawk you can program in a flight path and set it off with instructions to ignore if it loses contact with the ground and continue the mission but, again, you have to program it right.