Autonomous Gliding

Hi,

I am a university student working on a mission where I’m planning to release a completely underpowered glider from a carrier airplane at around 50-100 ft. The glider is to autonomously land at a landing site immediately after release. I was hoping to use ArduPlane to land the glider but I was very confused if or how I can configure it for this type of aircraft and mission. Most of the glider related application I’ve seen involve soaring which I definitely do not want to do. I’m also not sure how to configure everything without a motor of any kind as it seems like many of configuration guides assume there is motor(even for gliders). I was wondering how this can be done or if it is even possible. Can anyone help?

Thanks

Hi Safa,

Sounds like a cool project.

You’re right, most of the gliding is geared to soaring applications. However, you can certainly use ArduPlane for your mission. The key things to do are:

• set TECS_SPDWEIGHT to 2.0. This causes ArduPlane to control airspeed using pitch, rather than using pitch to control height, which will not work for a glider.
  • ArduPlane will detect that it is losing height and will trigger a special routine that sets target airspeed to ARSPD_FBW_MIN. So make sure ARSPD_FBW_MIN is set to the airspeed you want to fly at.
  • make sure that 0 degrees pitch gives a glide speed close to what you are looking for, with sufficient stall margin. You can do this by setting the plane at a few degrees nose-down when you calibrate level in Mission Planner, or by using the TRIM_PITCH_CD parameter.

Any questions let me know.

Sam

Hi Sam

Thanks for your help. I wanted make sure I got your last point. So we are basically telling ArduPlane that 0 degrees pitch is actually a few degrees lower than true 0 degrees? Are we doing this so that when ArduPlane pitches up to maintain glide speed it doesn’t the stall the glider?