Autonomous boat using a kayak as a frame.

Hello everyone! I would like to share a project that I’ve been working on in the past year or so.

Goals
I’m currently an undergrad student of Electronics Engineering at UFPel in Brazil. I was approached by a professor of Water Engineering wanting to make an autonomous boat to test the prototype sensors that his students developed. In addition, it would be also used for doing bathymetry in the local river and lake.

Since it wasn’t an oficial university project yet, there was no budget for it. All the parts for the project ware donated by other professors or by me.

Parts

Build
As you guys can see from the parts list, it was not an easy project, since all the parts were pretty old. Never the less, it worked surprisingly well!

Telemetry was done with the SiK telemetry module from 3DR, and manual control with an old Spektrum radio. GPS used was the generic Compass/uBlox combo.
All the electronics were mounted on waterproof boxes.

The motor direction was controlled with vector trust, with a 20Kg servo attached to the motor shaft with a custom assembly. The motor itself was controlled with a cheap brushed ESC.

The ESC was also mounted on a waterproof box, but i experienced some overheating issues, so i had to drill a hole for a fan. Fortunately, the ESC itself is waterproof, tho it is a cheap one from china, so i will not be testing that.

Results
I did not run any controlled tests on the power draw and efficiency, but just from running it normally, i can say that the whole thing is pretty inefficient, even with the solar panel.

Top speed of the vessel was about 1.1 m/s and the motor draws about 8 amps at that speed.
It works best on still waters, like the lake, and the river on days with good weather conditions.

Upgrades