Automatic start with AUTO_TRIGGER_PIN how?

Hello,

I’m fairly new to Ardupilot, but I do have my Rover working. It’s pretty awesome that anyone can make use of such a powerful platform with not too much effort.

My Rover has a Pixhawk controller and works with an RC controller to select hold/acro/auto modes, and arm/disarm. I can also program missions and start actions from Mission Planner (my GCS). It’s all good.

In acro mode I can drive the Rover around like an RC car. It’s a lot of fun.

In auto mode it will set off for waypoint 1 and follow the list of waypoints in order as expected.

There are a few features I haven’t tried yet, but I have the basic functionality I need.

My goal is to build a platform that can be started up simply, with no RC controller, and no GCS. Like this:

1. Turn on power
  2. Press hardware safety switch until the LED is on solid.
  3. Flick a switch, off it goes on the pre-loaded mission.

I’ve figured out from this forum and various places that this is possible, but it’s not working for me. I do have the latest firmware (3.2.2).

Basically, I have configured AUTO_TRIGGER_PIN, which will act as a run/pause input. The pin is grounded through the switch in the ‘run’ position, and unconnected in the ‘pause’ position. I confirmed the switch is detected properly by observing messages on the GCS.

I have configured INITIAL_MODE to 10 for Auto.

I have set FS_THR_ENABLE to 0, and FS_GCS_ENABLE to 0 so that I don’t need the GCS or RC running. I have set ARMING_REQUIRE to 0.

What happens is that the Rover Powers up and arms, but flicking the run/pause switch to ground AUTO_TRIGGER_PIN does nothing (I do press the hardware safety switch first).

If I set ARMING_REQUIRE to 1 then use the RC controller to enter Auto mode then the AUTO_TRIGGER_PIN switch works as expected. I can have the Rover run or pause by toggling the switch.