ArduRover and Iridium SBD RockBlock integration

Hi,
I’m building an ocean going autonomous solar powered boat that has a Cube Orange running Rover 4.0 as its autopilot. I would like to integrate in an Iridium Short Burst Data (SBD) modem and service from Rock Seven so I can receive updates in the order of 2-4 times a day. In the updates I’d like to get the boats current position and heading plus status of a few things like batteries etc.
The Rock Seven RockBlock system looks perfect for the job but as I’m pretty new to ArduPilot I can’t figure out how to integrate the two. I have searched these forums and elsewhere and the only discussion/detail is the SPL solution as discussed here Global Satellite Telemetry for ArduPilot and here Stretching Comm Links: From Indoors to the Globe

Does anyone have any experience or anything to suggest on the subject? Is the SPL solution the only option, other than hacking something new together myself?

Thanks,
Paul

1 Like

Some of the thinking I have done to date;

1. Should I physically wire the RockBlock’s UARt to the OrangeCube TELEM2? I am comfortable with UART<>UART wiring, its more about what happens next?
  2. If so, what config do I need to do in Mission Planner?
  3. I am comfortable with Arduino boards and wonder if I should be putting a SAMD21 based Arduino in between the CubeOrange TELEM2 port and the RockBlock…and have it filter/translate/reformat the messages etc?
  4. How do I limit ArduRover to only send the few parameters I want and only the few times of day I want? Or do I do that with above mentioned Arduino?
  5. How do I issue commands (like new waypoints) from Mission Planner to the boat?
    Lots to think about, but I was hoping some of the obvious things that others have already learned could be shared? I’m happy to share what I learn as I go.
    Thanks again,
    Paul

You can set custom message intervals with scripting.

Thanks @iampete, I’ve had a read and can see where that may play a role.
Thanks,