Ardupilot Compass calibration finishes early in mission planner. Flies but drifts badly

I am a newbie. I have a tarot 680 with ardupilot . It does fly but not well. It tilts down and drifts west and south in stabilize mode. Altitude hold makes the drone fly up and then hold for a second and then drop and then fly up again. Loiter makes the drone fly away to the west.

When I try to calibrate the compass via telemetry and mission planner the dots appear and it does the calibration on different axis but after about 1 minute of calibration it finishes really quickly . it never gets more then 600 points of calibration.

Please help. Im on the verge of selling this and going dji naza.

Ive swapped compasses/gps modules, flight controllers , reset flight controller and reinstalled mission planner and issue remains.

@darrelljr00:

• Did you auto trim your aircraft (Seems you didn’t)

• Did you calibrate the accelerometers (Level and 6 points calibrations?

• Is your CG properly set up?

• What parameter did you choose when doing your compass calibration

• Did you had the main battery installed while doing the compas calibration?

• Which hardware are you using? (Pixhawk or equivalent?)

• What motor / propellers battery are you using?

• Is your mission planner version is 1.3.48 build 1.1.6330.31130?

• What version of Arducopter are you using?

You ask for help, but don’t provide details required to help you…

Cheers
Henri

P.S. Same size aircraft flys beautifully without any problem. (FYI). :slight_smile:

thanks for the response. Im getting pretty desperate.

I have a Radiolink at10 transmitter and receiver.
Ardupilot 2.8 with external compass.
I did the acclerometer( nose up, nose down, left, down and right)
did compass Calibration using Telemetry
running mission planner 1.3.45 build 1.1.6286.16738
ardupilot v3.2.1

motors - ax-2810q kv750
1238 props.
afro esc 30A
quanum gps /compass.
battery is mounted bottom center of drone pointing north