ArduPilot APM 2.8 cannot get both motors to run

I am a beginner but after a lot of work have got my tank using skid steering to work with a radio controller and receiver, the ardupiltot is driving two brushed motors through two hobbyking esc. PROBLEM. If I connect a battery to the left train all works it powers the pilot the receiver and the motors which run properly from the transmitter left control. If I disconnect that and connect the right it all works fine too. But if I connect a battery to both esc then only the first one connect works. So to summarise I can get both wheels/tracks turning back and forward correctly but only one at a time when i try to do both the last one connected doesn’t work. Any ideas and help appreciated

Do your ESCs have an integrated BEC? If so, do you have the red wires of both ESCs connected to the APMs servorail? This might cause the second ESCs not to initialize correctly/at all, because the second ESC gets power from the servorail instead of delivering it. Remove one red wire from the servo connector and try again.

OK I think they do have BEC. The way its configured is shown in diagram they are both matched 1060’s now

I might not be getting some things here. In the headline for your other thread you wrote “Pixhawk 2.4.8” and then it was an APM 2.x. Here you wrote that you are powering both ESCs with seperate Lipos, but the picture you posted shows one lipo and a power distribution. Could you please clarify which hardware you actually use and how it is setup?
And we should keep it all in one thread.