APM Planner 2.0 Mac usb issue

Hello all. I am new to all this. I installed the apm planner and have to make the usb a comm port. I tried the download several times but still can not for the life of me get it to work. Is there anyone who can help?
Thanks

I am having this exact same issue. I have searched the forum to no avail. I have installed two separate USB drivers, turned off my blue tooth, installed the software on Yosemite and Mavricks with no luck. Same problem every time.

Does anyone have a fix for this?

did you install the FTDI drivers that came in the install packager (i.e. the .dmg file?)

Yes, I have installed the drivers that came with the install packageā€¦even went to the manufacures site and downloaded them. I also installed a separate set of drivers from another thread in the forum. No luck.

Should you be able to select a USB port regardless of wether the autopilot is connected?

I also did the FTDI driver download. Iā€™m sure it is a simple fix if someone can help

you can only connect to the USB port when it is connected. You can use the ā€˜System Informationā€™ app to see connected USB devices.

The other option is to open terminal app and type

That will list connected usb devices that can be connected to. you should see one called cu.usbmodem1 when the pixhawk is connected.

I did not buy a APM 2.5 from 3drā€¦instead buying a probable knock off from Amazonā€¦could this be the problem?

Only if the board is defective.

When I plug it in, it lights up but it is not recognized in my hardware configuration under USB devices. Going to try a windows computer before I give up and say its defective

Would it help if i run bootcamp on my mac or VMware or an emulator to run the windows version of APM? Or would i still have the problem that the COM port cant be found? Iā€™m in the same situation as you guys.

[color=#FF0000]APM 2.0.16 + Yosemite (Maverick as well) + HK Mega 2.7 [/color]does not connect to the board (APM cant find the comm port)