APM 2.8 is it supported?

Hey I am new to this tc world and I am thinking to buy an APM 2.8 as it is cheaper then the pixhawk. I want to build a 200 dollar plane. But if I use pixhawk the cost increases to 300 dollars and that is really out of my budget. So I am curious to know that APM 2.8 is supported? Or like will it work (even with less features) ?

Thanks paarth

Not supported anymore.
You can find older versions of ArduPilot, but not recommended.

Do not expect any support: APM 2.8 is ooobsoooleeete. Original APM design is 10 years old and firmware is 7 years old.

It may work if you find the right configuration software (old version of mission planner).

1 Like

But it is really hard to not be confused by the documentation. The existing documentation is a mix of old and new, so you will probably not be able to configure the board correctly.
You do not need to buy a pixhawk flight controller, ArduPilot supports over 80 different boards, starting at around 40$

1 Like

Ok lemme see idk if they are available in India

I only found this one for 430 dollars – Holybro Pixhawk 4

I know nothing about etailers in India but a google search turned up this:

Matek resellers

Several Matek boards are supported.

mostly out of stock… I saw in a video that a person used APM 2.8 for building a drone in 2020

Then keep looking. You will get little to no support for the APM.

ok so will the plane fly with an APM2.8 autonomously and safely? Final question (its for my son and he is very young)

A plane will fly with no flight controller.

3 Likes

It really sucks to see in this community, when someone so interested and willing to dig into a flight controller they find it easily accessible or even budget friendly and try to build a drone to get into the hobby and face an issue, regardless of any situation, the first thing they have to tell you is that it is obsolete and ask you to get a new flight controller.

Have a look at the Ardupilot history