Android Ground Station running Tower with Video + Telemetry downlink

Hello everyone ,

my name is Enerik Kapllanaj , i am a beginner in FPV racing .
Started my adventure almost 8 month ago by building a custom quadcopter .
When i discovered the Ardupilot project i was really exited by the community support and the ardupilot capabilities .
Alot of time has passed since i started my project . I learned alot , it is a great experience .
I had my setbacks but still i pushed forward , also my built is staying strong and flying well.
I needed a Ground Station for my quad , i really wanted something mobile to mount on my Taranis Radio.
So i built a mobile ground station using an android phone , 5.8 GHz receiver , 915 MHz telemetry module and a USB splitter .
Attached the post you will find some pictures of the project , hope you like it .
If anyone is interested for the project i can create a github project so anyone can build it .

Cheers
FPVEngineer

8 Likes

Looks good! I have so far only used the ROTG01/2 so very interested in this.

iteresting project.

How do you transfer video from 5.8GHz analog receiver to mobile?

Hey Phil,

i use the same module for receiving analog video signal .

1 Like

i use a usb splitter wich connect to my phone via OTG .
It gives me the opportunity to connect the telemetry and video receiver and transfer the data to Tower App

1 Like

This is still work on progress, as soon as i finish and test that everything works good .
I will create a github respiratory with all the necessary documentation to setup and build the ground station as described.

Cheers
FPVEngineer

2 Likes

Hi @FPVEngineer,
Very interesting. There is a Chinese product T12 from Skydroid. They use the Tower app also and they stream the video also into the Tower app. I believe they use the uvc library for Andoid, maybe it will help you, because it will give you a better user experience.
Gal

1 Like

Hey @gnitzan,

Thanks for the info.