Airspeed sensor issue with ground speed value

Greetings

The issue: in mission planner when I enable the airspeed sensor the ground speed value becomes identical to the airspeed value.

This is my first time using an airspeed sensor. As of now I am testing everything on the desk I did not go to the field yet.

My flight controller is pixhawk 2.4.8

My airspeed sensor is: PX4 Differential Airspeed Pitot Tube MS4525DO + Pitot Tube Airspeedometer Airspeed Sensor for Pixhawk PX4 Flight Controller

The airspeed reads correctly with default settings. When I blow in the tube it’s giving me correct values.

When I enable the use of airspeed sensor in mission planner the ground speed value become identical to airspeed. When I blow in the tube the ground speed also increases.

I would appreciate any help since I am new to airspeed sensors.

Hello!

The ground speed doesn’t come straight from the GNSS receiver, but from the AHRS filters. These try to reconcile the airspeed readings and the GNSS readings.

Can you tell us a bit more about your setup?
Are you using GNSS receivers?
Was the vehicle armed when blowing into the tube?

1 Like

Hello

Thank for the replay

I am not using any GNSS receivers.

My setup is basic. Pixhawk with the provided M8N with compass model. I am using a usb cable connected to my pc desktop to use mission planner.

The ground speed issue remains wither the vehicle is armed or disarmed.

There is an error massage when I connect to mission planner “ GPS 1 detected as u-box at 230400 baud “

Please note the the GPS compass is not plugged since I read that it is not mandatory. Plugging the compass using an i2c split board makes no difference regarding this groundspeed issue.

Appreciate your help

GNSS stands for “Global Navigation Satellite System”, that includes GPS.

1 Like

Actually I can’t reproduce your issue in SITL:

I set SIM_WIND_DIR=0 (North wind), SIM_WIND_T=1 (constant wind regardless of altitude) and SIM_WIND_SPD=10.