Advice for MARCBOT IV

I am totally new to rc but have some robotics, linux, and programming experience. I also used to teach a grade school robotics class which I learned a lot from. I came across and acquired a fully functional marcbot iv. At a distance it looks like something complicated but it is basically a glorified rc truck on milspec batteries. As far as I can tell it uses an 9 channel system and has only one channel not in use.

1. Steering
  2. Throttle
  3. Lights
  4. Parking brake
  5. ( empty? )
  6. upper arm
  7. lower arm
  8. Camera pan
  9. Camera tilt

In addition it has a fairly low res video on its own separate receiver antenna.

I believe the main receiver is 72 mhz with pcm and video not sure.

The robot uses 2 24v bb2590 batteries but somewhere in there it takes the voltage down to 15.4v and that goes the esc which is currently a traxxas 16.8v esc attached to a single 550 motor which drives a 4x4 gearbox.

Battery life is effectively a non issue as it has 6 hr drive time on these batteries. In fact the batteries are really the best part of the system it seems.

I have not been able to get an overall idea of what all I need to get this working on autopilot so I figured I would ask for some advice on what autopilot module would be best for this vehicle? I do not have a huge budget but do not mind saving up for the best fit if it is achievable.

I have read a lot about where to start but I am in analysis paralysis on the first step. Thanks for any advice.

Thatā€™s quite an impressive vehicle you have there. Is there any documentation indicating what the Receiver output protocol is? These signals would need to be connected to the Flight Controller which would then provide control signals to the drive and other components. How much package space is there for a Flight Controller? And when you say ā€œnot a huge budgetā€ what price range would that be?

1 Like