What's the best ArduPlane hardware?

Hello. I am new to ArduPlane and would like to buy some hardware. I have flown a lot of RC planes, so the hobby is not completely new for me.

I have done a bit of research of my own (ArduPilot docs, YouTube etc…) to find out what I should buy and not. The only thing I really found out was that there was so much to choose from. Therefore, I thought I could ask here for some help.

I have a FT Explorer that I want to use as my first airframe (1447 mm wingspan). I’m thinking of using the plane as FPV, autonomous and use a ground station with mission planning etc. I will maybe add a small gimbal if it suits the frame.
I would like to have different sensors. Is this something I can add as long as there is enough pins on the flight controller, or do I need a specific flight controller for specific sensors?

I currently fly my RC planes on an old Futaba T6EX (2,4 GHz FASST). The range on this, as far as I know, is only a couple of kilometers at it’s best. I would like to fly a lot further away than that!
Is there a possibility to change the frequency on my Tx to for example the MHz band? What’s the best frequency? Is it possible to go back and forth with the MHz band and 2,4 GHz? Or is it simply best to buy a new Tx with longer range?

I have a lot of questions, so I will summarize them here:

1. What’s the best flight controller for me? Does it matter if it’s open or closed hardware?
  2. What types of sensors can I use on that flight controller?
    3a. Can I change the frequency on a Futaba 2,4 GHz FASST to for example 433/915 MHz?
    3b. If not, what’s the best transmitter for long range FPV?
  3. My airframe currently runs on a 3S 2200 mah LiPo. Does the autonomous setup require a battery of it’s own, can I use my current battery or should I buy a bigger battery to support all the features and extend the flying time?