What is kind of sensor can avoid flagpole

Is there any sensor or Linda can detect a flagpole (about 3 cm width or the rope) and does object avoidance.

1 Like

Rover-4.0.0 includes improved object avoidance and an updated lightware SF40c driver. My guess is that this 360lidar or the Intel RealSense cameras are perhaps the best choice.

2 Likes

Thanks sir
Does now Rover-4.0.0 support Intel Realsense T265 for Obstacle Avoidance?
I’m really looking forward to using the device for my ardurover project :slight_smile:

@seonwoo_kim,

ArduPilot supports using the Intel Realsense for position estimation (wiki is here) but I have not seen anyone demonstrate it being used for object avoidance. I would expect that someone will do this in the next few months though.

1 Like

@rmackay9
Thank you so much for the quick answer!
I am a mechanical engineering student and am working on an ardurover project as my senior project.
I have a lot of interest and I want to learn a little bit and participate in development.
I’m trying to avoid obstacles on the indoor space.
I’ve read your answers all the time and I think lidar is better than sonar.
Can I use only one TF-Mini lidar to avoid obstacles indoors? or need at least 2 for right and left side?
Thanks

@seonwoo_kim, there are really two separate issues that need to be resolved for indoor avoidance:

• position estimate
  • distances to obstacles

ArduPilot doesn’t (yet) support calculating a position using lidar information so you’ll need another system to provide that. The two best solutions are ROS and the Intel RealSense cameras.

1 Like

@rmackay9
Right.
I didn’t explain enough, but you said exactly.
We will use Intel realsense T265 for position estimate.
And for distance to obstacles, we will use TF-mini lidar.
I want to use RPlidar A2 but it’s expensive …
Sorry to bother you, but can I use one TF-mini lidar to solve the distance to obstacle?
I’m afraid it’s not enough.
Thank you for always.