Walker autonomous mower build suggestions

Hopefully I’ve posted this in the right place, I had it in a sub forum but it didn’t seem to get any attention…

So I live rural and have a large square paddock as lawn. I also hate mowing the lawns, and would much rather be in my shed tinkering etc.

I have a spare Walker ride on mower that I can use for this project, and I had a bit of engineering and computer knowledge (I own an IT company with ten staff), so I figured this shouldn’t be beyond me hopefully!.

I also love to research the hell out of stuff before jumping into it, and would rather spend the money for good stuff. Below is a random collection of my thoughts on it all.

So with that aside, here’s my plan, I’m after everyones input on this as I’m a total newbie.

My mower is a Walker very similar to this - http://www.prinsgroentechniek.nl/home/479-walker-mdd-diesel-frontmaaier.html8

The back tray can be removed and replaced with a flat board, so mounting things isn’t an issue.

I’d be using Mission Planner as that is probably the most well sorted.

I’d like to use the new PixHawk 2.1 with HERE+ http://www.proficnc.com/system-kits/121-gps-module.html1

I haven’t decided on actuators or controller boards yet, but open to suggestions. The actuators will come down to stroke length / force needed.

Controls

The Walker has a single lever for drive speed on the right hand side. This works by being pushed forward. If it’s right back the mower won’t move, if it’s right forward then the mower will go full speed, and obviously anywhere inbetween.

To turn the Walker has two levers in the middle, as the speed lever above is pushed forward so are these. To turn you pull back on the applicable lever, or to temporarily slow the mower down / reverse you just pull both the levers backwards.