Vtol with an payload on the end of an 1 metre rope

Hi, Im new at VTOL and I need help about it. Our mission is carrying a bottle(with 1 meter rope) and take a tour. My VTOLs wing span ll be around 2 meter. Is there anything I should take care of beforehand? I need some suggest.

The payload rope must be attached vertically below the c of g, but you probably guessed that,
Whats the application?

Hi @Scott_Nunan

This is the task of a local competition. With vtol, I need to carry the weight of the load I chose at the end of the 1 meter rope. Unfortunately, this will be my first vtol experience, so I wanted to ask what I should pay attention to here. the rope is really a scary challenge what can i do about it and what should i watch out for? Also, on the ardupilot quadplane page, it talks about the need to manually set the pid, frankly, this scared me. Doing this in a vtol with 2 meters wingspan worries me, is it really necessary or what do you think doing all the things written on that page will give me?

https://ardupilot.org/plane/docs/quadplane-vtol-tuning-process.html#quadplane-vtol-tuning-process

The load weight is gradually increasing and I look forward to your test videos.

1 Like

I will share our flight video as soon as possible.But I need an advise please :slight_smile:

It’s absolutely necessary.

Thanks,
Yep but why and What should I pay attention to. Is there an item that I should be particularly careful about? Or what other advice can you give?

Why VTOL, not plane or copter?

because the competition wants it that way

The competition needs to fly like a plane, draging glider(payload)?

Yes.I think they want to test how stable we can fly.