Using windy.com as an overlay for MP

Hello everyone.
Im fairly new to Mission Planner. But have a question in regards to utilizing a website as a layover on Mission planner.
I use windy.com to find my wind speed and direction when planning my fixed wings flight mission.
I was wondering if it would be possible to lay the live wind speed and vectors over top of mission planner?
This would be an invaluable tool for long range flight planners like myself.
Or perhaps theres something like this already available?
Like I said, im very new to MP.

1 Like

I was unaware of windy.com until I read your post. Any idea how accurate the data/forecast is? Is it global, or North America-only, or US-only, or …?
If decent data, it would be interesting to integrate with MP.

Kelly

I have a weather station on site, that I use daily. At times, the weather stations needs to be reset because the info screen has frozen for some reason. - Access to the weather station data is provided by my companies web-link.
For the month of august I would check windy.com then check my weather station.
At times i would find my weather station reporting the true wind speed was a 1-2 km’s lower than what windy was reporting. And this was confirmed by using a hot-wire velocimeter.
Windy provides accurate wind speed and gust information.
If you have a weather station id recommend testing it for yourself.
Because my test is being done in only 1 location.
However that location is a remote mine site 2 hours north in the bush.

But for what its worth, I rely on windy.com to plan all my flights.