Unable to setup tank style with SKID_STEER_X params

Hi there,

I’m just new to Rover platform :slight_smile:
I want to setup a basic 4 wheel vehicle so that I can drive it as a tank (RC1 and RC3 used as left/right instead of steer/throttle) using a Pixhawk, ESC, motors …
I had a look at the wiki and found that I had to set SKID_STEER_IN and SKID_STEER_OUT to 1. That’s what I did with mission planner.

Before pluging the pixhawk to the rest of the platform I wanted to ensure that PWM were correct on both RC1 and RC3 outputs.
So I plugged a joystick on the PC and assigned RIGHT stick to Throttle and LEFT stick to Roll and had a look at RC1 and RC3 outputs on the scope.

The behaviour is quite strange to me !! :open_mouth:
Behaviour I expected:

• when moving left stick, RC1 ranges from pwm min to pwm max / RC3 is fix and set to trim
  • when moving right stick, RC3 ranges from pwm min to pwm max / RC1 is fix and set to trim
    Behaviour I have :
  • when moving left stick, RC1 ranges from pwm min to pwm max / RC3 changes between 2 lower values
  • when moving right stick, I have strictly the same thing that with left stick for RC1 and RC3!

I was wondering if I had to change some STEER_X values as steering has no real meaning in tank style …
Thanks for your help :slight_smile:

@Jeplex,
For a start only set SKID_STEER_OUT to 1.
What are you using for a receiver for your Pixhawk?
If using a Spektrum satellite receiver, you will have to modify the RCMAP_X parameters.
The skid steering output of the Pixhawk is usually on servo outputs 1 and 2.
Regards,
TCIII AVD

Hi,
I only set SKID_STEER_OUT to 1 but it doesn’t change the behavior.
For the moment I’m not using any radio command, I use a gamepad plugged to the PC with LEFT stick being the roll (assigned to servo1 via RCMAP) and RIGHT stick being the throttle (assigned to servo3 via RCMAP)

RCMAP_ROLL,1
RCMAP_THROTTLE,3

RC1_DZ,30
RC1_MAX,1900
RC1_MIN,1100
RC1_REV,1
RC1_TRIM,1500

RC3_DZ,30
RC3_MAX,1900
RC3_MIN,1100