Unable to Calibrate Accelerometer

Hello all, I am very new to the whole multi rotor world and it has definitely been a challenge so far. I am running the newest APM 2.0.8 on my mac (APM 2.0.7 had the same issue). Everything seems to work fine except for the accelerometer calibration. I can do the radio and compass calibration and see on the flight data page the virtualization of my UAV. However when I go the calibrate accelerometer tab and click the button nothing happens. No messages or anything. It looks like the button depresses, but nothing happens. When I do the other calibrations, messages pop up and say what to do.

Am I doing something wrong or is it some software issue?

Can I use the auto trim (copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/autotrim/) to get the same results?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Hi Georgiadesk. I have the same issue and I have found two options for getting the calibration. The first option is to carry out the procedure by clicking the calibration button and then continuing the procedure… level, left side, right side, nose, tail and then upside-down, hitting any key after each position. If you then go to the “flight data” page and click on the “messages” tab you will see the process displayed and the success or failure of the calibration. I have had mixed success doing it this way.

The best option I have found is to go into terminal mode, click on connect using the USB cable. Then click in the terminal window and type “setup” hit enter and then type in “accel” hit enter and follow the instructions.

Works every time for me. If you haven’t used the CLI (command line interface) before, you can view a list of available options by typing in “help” and “exit” to go to the top menu. There’s lots of good stuff in there!