Uavcan Power Schemes: Q to Electronic Experts

Hey

I’m puzzling about practical schemes for powering uavcan nodes. I realized that there is a lack of an “official” recommendation, such as there is for nodes consuming power (http://uavcan.org/Specification/8._Hardware_design_recommendations/#power-supply). I will make a suggestion, but I’m not an electronics expert, and my suggestion is likely just a quick hack. I would hope that this could trigger suggestions by experts, resulting in an “official” recommendation.

The simplest case of a Uavcan network consisting of one node which provides the power to Canbus, and all other nodes consuming power, is obvious, and not the topic.

However, a node may be dual-function, i.e., in some situations one would want it to power the whole uavcan network while in an other situation it should be a “normal” power consuming node.

A prototypical example would be an SLCAN adapter. If used for testing a node should power that node, while if used to sniff the “true” network it should not. Hardware-wise one could add a jumper to select the modus, or add a programmable switch which can be configured via e.g. the Uavcan GUI Tool, as it is done with the Zubax Babel SLCAN adpater (https://docs.zubax.com/zubax_babel#Power_supply). However, IMHO, that’s not really elegant nor user friendly, and a potential source of trouble if the user isn’t careful. It would be much neater if there would be a scheme where the node selects the modus operandi itself.

Also, why should there be only one node with power supply capability in the network. In fact, if there would be several, and they could negotiate which one is on duty, this would give the network some redundancy, which could be very welcome (and also adress the SLCAN adapter situation).