Trex ? Anyone?

I did search, but did not find anything.

I’m a lapsed R/C helicopter pilot (haven’t flown in a couple of years , but used to fly mild “3d”). I have several Align Trex’s (600n, 500, and 450), and all this new, awesome UAV stuff has got me thinking about picking up an APM and throwing it in a few of my machines.

I’m hoping that there are others on this forum that have done this already, as I have a few questions:

1. What’s the smallest size “traditional” heli a 3DR APM can be put in?
  2. I’ve read (vaguely) about an “assist” mode - does this exist for “traditional” machines? I’m assuming this would allow the machine to self stabilize if it received (or did not receive) the correct inputs - this would be very helpful for ramping up on the significant learning curve that is R/C helis
  3. Anyone run an APM in a 50-sized glow machine? The thought of a large smoker flying itself does scare me, but I’m also curious.
  4. Is the APM capable of piloting any aerobatics?
  5. Any other advice?

The UAV stuff really has renewed my interest in this stuff - really cool.

It seems we “traditional” heli pilots are in the tremendous minority when it comes to APM.

I too am very interested in what APM/Pixhawk can do for the traditional heli. This tread doesn’t answer your questions head on…but covers some of the ground you are interested in. This website seemed to recommend a 450 sized heli for a test platform. Enjoy this read:

helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=560336

Hi guys, sorry it took a while for me to get on this forum.