Traditional Heli Minimum RC Requirements

Hello all
As I am new in this ardupilot world so first let me introduce myselve. This is my first posting.
I am a retired german electronic engineer. English is not my favorit language so I will make several mistakes but I hope you will understand the meanings of my postings.
For really very long time I us RC-Systems mainly Futaba to controll my vehicles, cars, boats, planes and helicopter. All is running fine. But for a future project in my mind I am now looking for a more sophisticated flight controller and so I reached this wonderful platform.
To learn more about flight controller I want first to upgrade my T-REX 250 Flybar System helicopter with an first ardupilot based flight controller. Out of the list the the MATEKSYS H743 MINI is my first idea for this relative small helicopter.
At this time the helicoper is controlled by a max 6 channel RC Transmitter Receiver combination. 4 channels are normal PWM channels used for Collective Pitch; Tail Rotor; Cyclic Pitch, Cyclic Roll. Channel 5 is switching the Tail Gyro between normal and Headlock mode, Channel 6 switch the motor on off. The motor is controlled by a simple govenor motor driver with soft ramp up.
So what I want is to use in first learning step to use the flight controller instead of the gyro in a moreless comparable mode like above. I think this is wath you call Stabized Mode.
So now I have read in the wiki a minimum 8 channel RC System is needed: (elevator, aileron, collective pitch, rudder, flight mode, tuning knob, auxiliary function switch, throttle hold).
The first four are identicall to my normal functions. Flight mode is similar to my Tail Gyro switching. throttle hold is similar to my motor switch. But is the tuning knob and auxiliary function switch really necessary. What are these functions for?
Second I have read that the throttle hold is using by default channel 8. Is it possile to switch thiis to another channel (e.g. channel 6 )