Telemetry w/ Frsky not Working

This is my first time using the Frsky hardware and I’m having issues getting telemetry into the Tx. I have the Rx Smart Port connected to the Pixhawk 2.1 at the TELEM 2 port. In MP, I have set SERIAL2_PROTOCOL to “10” which is for “FrSky SPort Passthrough”.

On the Tx, I have loaded Firmware OpenTx 2.2.0 with lua scripting enabled.

I turned on the Tx, started sensor discovery, then powered on the Rx. Within ~10 sec a GPS sensor appeared and that’s it. The GPS sensor appears to be putting out reasonable values. The other sensors are SWR, RSSI, and RxBt.

Then I set SERIAL2_PROTOCOL to “4” for “FrSky SPort” and now I get a few more sensors… Tmp1, Alt, Tmp2, GSpd, GAlt, Hdg, VFAS, Curr, Fuel.

So what is going on here? This link seems to suggest that the “Native passthrough FrSky telemetry” should have many many sensors that can be sent over telemetry. Furthermore, I am not seeing all of the sensors that are listed in the “Native standard FrSky telemetry” when I set the protocol to FrSky SPort.

Thanks!

Hardware:
Pixhawk 2.1
Frsky X6R Rx
Taranix X9E Tx
Craft and Theory Telemetry Cable

1 Like

hi Mike, I had the same problem, trying to use 10, only GPS sensor available. Not clear. I understood that 10 was only for Flight Deck script. Or you can write your own script. For me, I went back to parameter 4. easier. Or you can try Luapilot http://ilihack.github.io/LuaPilot_Taranis_Telemetry
but not working with my Taranis Q X7, not same screen size.

What you are seeing is normal. What you need to do is get the Flight Deck scripts and sound files from Craft&Theory