Telemetry module driver problem

Hello everyone.
IM new to drones and I built my first quad.
I have APM2.6 with 915mhz radio telemetry . Not sure if its 3dr but windows sees it as Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge (com8)
I installed everything correctly on computer , mission planner connects apm over mavlink.
While installing to my laptop , I made mistake, I insert telemetry module before install mission planner. Windows found it CP2102 USB to UART bridge but couldn’t find any driver to install , so it has warning on device manager.
Later I installed mission planer, I tried to uninstall device but whatever I tried driver still missing, I tried to assign driver manually , but couldn’t find it in driver list or in mission planner folder under drivers directory.
Anyone has experience with this telemetry unit?

no genuine 3dr hardware has the silicon image chip, so you will need to track down drivers for that.

Not to difficult to find…

silabs.com/products/mcu/Pag … ivers.aspx

1 Like

I hesitate to re-open this topic, but I can’t find the solution anywhere else…yet.
I am using Win 7 Pro…32bit (small Panasonic Toughbook Tablet).
MP runs fine and connects to APM via USB.
I had the same driver issue, downloaded the drivers…no problem.
But now when I try to connect, after about 5 seconds I get the “blue screen of death” and shut down.
I have rolled the drivers back twice and reinstalled, but same problem.

I had no problems on my home laptop…that I recall.

that’s a part of the Windows experience, not Mission planner issue, you can try to fresh-install windows, and hope it works for a while, even after installing device driver for a device that existed at the time of windows 95.

…or you can just install some Linux distro, no drivers will be necessary, and APM planner 2 will do the job very reliably.

Bit of an update…
When I plug in the USB telemetry radio into the laptop it is recognized…no errors in Device Manager.
I can select it in MP.