Switch arming & AirMode [long discussion]

If you follow the Facebook group you may have seen some of this discussion already, but I’m hoping that by collating the findings of that thread into a properly structured forum post we might promote a more critical conversation.

Please note that I do not want this to sound like a brash ‘Betaflight does this, why can’t Ardupilot?!’ complaint. Instead my aim is to logically reason through some features which have been very widely adopted & tested within the Betaflight community over the course of many years, but which are seemingly quite rarely used & in a more nascent stage of development & testing in the Ardupilot scene, to highlight where the Ardupilot implementation is slightly confusing (to somebody who has used both platforms for ~5 years).

Background
I have been building & flying racing quads with Betaflight since 2016 & larger copters/planes with Ardupilot since 2017.

Betaflight uses switch arming & this is widely acknowledged as an important safety feature, both for the safety of the pilot/observer(s) & the safety of their equipment. Being able to reliably & near instantly cut power to the motors, especially in the event of a crash or failed landing, is critical.

When I first started working commercially with DJI drones in 2016, stick arming was something I really didn’t like. Back then the Phantom 3 was slightly notorious for how its top-heavy nature combined with the relatively small footprint of its landing gear could lead it to topple/flip when attempting to land on even just slightly uneven ground or in slightly windy conditions. When this happened, there was nothing the pilot could do but frantically hold the stick disarm command while watching the motors trying to dig the propellers into the ground (often breaking them).

Incident