Suggested Flight Modes for Rover?

I am just getting started with an Ardumower attempt.
What modes are you running?
I could see manual, auto and an RTL or similar.
Any reason for more than 3?
Pixhawk Cube Orange newb. Attempting an ArduRover/Mower
Mission Planner 1.3.75
Ardupilot 4.1.1
Sabertooth 2x25 on a mobility scooter base
presently set to Lithium/Micro RC/Mixed/Exponential

I use a six position dial and have it set to the following:
HOLD
MANUAL
AUTO
MANUAL
STEERING
ACRO

I do a lot of driving in MANUAL mode because it gives me the finest control when trimming around trees, buildings, and landscaping. STEERING and ACRO are nice for long, straight paths. I bracketed AUTO mode with MANUAL so that no matter which way I turn the dial, I get MANUAL mode with one click.

If I had to choose 3, they would be HOLD, MANUAL, and AUTO.

I see no reason to use RTL for a mower. You’re only asking for trouble by asking it to drive directly to the home waypoint unless you have VERY well placed fences and good obstacle avoidance parameters to match (along with external obstacle sensing).

I use a 3-position switch on my controller and have MANUAL, ACRO and AUTO. I had STEERING instead of ACRO for a long time, but some post by @rmackay9 convinced me to try ACRO and I have just stuck with it. I think for all practical purposes, they work about the same.

I agree with Yuri that HOLD would be nice, but I have done OK without it. My current remote does not support more than a 3-position switch.

I do most of my trimming in ACRO, but MANUAL is always nice to have so that you can be completely in control, or at least think you are. :slight_smile: