Success: LIS3MDL magnetometer for external compass on Px4

I am a pixhawk newbie, so please forgive any errors/confusion in the following.

I was struggling to get an external compass based on a combo GPS/compass to calibrate on a Px4.
The problem compass is based on the HMC5883l. I finally ran it off an Arduino Uno and I am now convinced that the chips is defective (virtually no signal on the Z axis) and the results from Mission Planner and the arduino code tell the same story…dead Z axis.

The GPS part of the module seems to work great so I was looking for a way to get another external compass chip to work. As is well reported, the HMC5883l is long obsolete so I considered using a LMS303D (mounted on a Pololu board); I could not get it to work (using 3.5.3 firmware. I am pretty sure that this makes senses for that firmware in that it does seem to support that chip on the I2C bus. So…

I was informed on this forum (thanks to the developers!) that the new beta firmware 3.5.4 rc 2 has the added feature of supporting the LIS3MDL as an external compass at 01E address on the I2C.