Steering boat wheel with DC Motor?

Hello all, I’d like to use the Ardupilot for steering my 31-foot sailboat. I am a newbie in ardupilot but the manuals are great and detailed. Haven’t seen something similar on the forum as most of the projects go with servos or skid steering, so the question is…

Can a 12V DC motor be used for rotating the boat’s steering wheel? 1 pulley on the motor and 1 pulley on the wheel, connected with a belt. All it has to do is rotate CC or CCW, and maybe adjust the speed of the motor according to the error’s value (utilizing the PID in the ardupilot?). The wheel is really light and doesn’t need a very high torque motor.

Is this possible? If yes, what motor driver should be used, and on which PMW pins of the PixHawk should connect?
Thanks

1 Like

You could probably get away with building your own “servo” really. Dump the normal steering servo/pwm channel into an arduino then build a system that looks at wheel position and outputs voltage accordingly.

just run any “First robotics competition legal” motor control.

Here is a cheap one that also has limit switch provisions built into it, if your into that sort of thing:

1 Like

Thank you for your reply, Darrel. I also thought that maybe have to get the Arduino in business, but if it’s possible to do the project without it, that would be great since my programming skills are very basic!

Instead of a DC motor, I found a high torque continuous rotation 6V servo that will be powered from a 10Amp DC to DC ( 12 to 6v)converter from the boat’s 12volt batteries.
The servo then just needs a PMW signal from the pixhawk ( ground steering function output?) and as I have understood ardupilot so far, that should be a functional setup correct?

1 Like

Hi,
you will need some kind of feedback, so the PWM signal from the pixhawk results in a certain steering wheel position. A continuous rotation servo is just a DC motor with ESC and gearbox attached. There is a servo from parallax with a feedback output: