Stabilize, Alt-Hold, Loiter and then crash - help needed pls

Hi,

A week ago I was flying my quad in an open field. It has a pixhawk PIX2 and runs AC 3.2 with GPS and 3DR telemetry. The quad was flying just fine before and did auto tune etc. All went fine and finished 4 packs in the 2 previous weeks.

This time I hooked the battery, armed and took off in Stabilize mode. Then switched to Alt-hold which went a couple of seconds fine. After that I switched to Loiter and the quad immediately revved to the left angled (rolling at 30 degrees) and then crashed in the ground. I tried to control back and get in control but with no luck. It was completely unresponsive.

I looked into the logs and I could not find any reason. This is my first time and I really appreciate if somebody helps me debugging it. Health seems was fine. GPS with >8 Sat and <2 HDOP. Barometer, accl, gyro all seem fine, I think.

Can you please help me look into the dataflash logs? I am including the log file from that flight. Just to learn what is going on!

Thanks!

Anybody can help with this would be really appreciated!

I had a look at your log, at it seems that just after you switch to loiter, the roll and pitch diverge from the desired values (under ATT section). Looking at the RCOU[T] values and assuming you have a QUAD-X configuration, channel 2 immediately jumps to full scale, which would seem to indicate a failure of the rear left motor. Channel 1 (front left) decreases drastically, probably trying to counter the roll induced by the failure above.

I think it’s most like that your ESC went out of sync or the prop failed (assuming that the ESC / motor seem to ok now). The expected result is that it would have tilted left and backwards, which sounds similar to what you described.

Thanks a lot. So rcou the output from the pixhawk to the esc, right?