SRXL Implementation of a new radio equipment

Topic:
Implementation of SRXL communication in the next versions of ArduCopter Firmware.

Proposal type: Software [X ]

Description:
Dear all,
my name is Davide Picchi and I’m a development engineer at Flairics GmbH & Co. KG ( https://flairics.com/ ), a german company located in Düsseldorf and expanding in many cities here in Germany.
We develop and sell large octocopters for industry applications.
Inspections with copters is our main busyness and we try to satisfy our customers by integrating special sensors. Since we found ArduCopter the better solution for its affidability and affordabilty, we equip our copters with ArduCopter as standard Flight Controller since 2016.
We are going to sell a new radio equipment (TX and RX combi) developed for special customer requirements, which are not satisfied with commercial solutions available on the markt. This product should be available in September for the mass production. During the development we realize soon, that ArduCopter doesn’t accept more than 12 channels through the PPM interface. So we decided to contact Mr. Walter Meyer (the father of SRXL) and we got our ID and our protocoll implementation to transmit up to 16 channels from TX to RX. A specification document has been uploaded with this topic. Flairics SRXL Spezifikation V1.00_EN.pdf (160.9 KB)

My company and I would be very happy to see that our SRXL implementation is going to be part of the next ArduCopter code. We want that our devices are directly recognized and identified in the next firmware versions. In this way we can just sell flash the flight controller and plug our radio transmitter without problems.
In order to do that the implementation of the SRXL has to be modified and updated according to the document I attached to this topic. I can figure out only 2 way to do that.

• some people of the ArduPilot community are going to take the changes and make them effective in the next firmware release, or