Spent an hour tuning roll and pitch P's today

Okay guys- first off I’m new to the APM world but have been flying RC planes for 10 years.

I’ve got a 54 inch wing that I have put APM 2.5 in, along with the ublox GPS, airspeed sensor, and after today, the telemetry is on order.

I did a lot of reading, and ended up setting up 3 flight modes: manual, FBWA, and RTL. I only experimented with manual and FBWA today.

The only tuning I’ve done- I increased the P’s on both pitch and roll until I got oscillaiton (SCARY), then reduced the P’s by about 1/3rd.

The plane is flying smoothly in FBWA now, BUT here are my two issues:
-the roll- the plane doesn’t roll very far in either direction, and although it is crisp and returns to level flight quickly without overshooting, the roll angle is so low that any turning in FBWA is going to take hundreds of yards to accomplish. Right now FBWA mode is worthless because turning takes forever.

-the pitch- the plane doesn’t respond to pitch inputs nearly at all. When I turned up the pitch P, I would get porpoising. When I turn it down, I get straight and level flight but I can’t control the pitch?

I turned on logs before flying, so I think I should have those if need be. Thanks for any insight…

It sounds like you have LIM_ROLL_CD too small. The default is 4500 (which is 45 degrees). The right value depends on your aircraft and what G forces it can sustain. For an aerobatic plane a value of 6000 or 6500 is often good.
As always, logs would help determine if this guess is right :slight_smile:

re: LIM_ROLL_CD