Speed Throttle at Waypoints

Hello everybody,
I am currently planning to build an autonomous boat with a length of 170cm. Unfortunately, I am still a beginner in the field.The boat is steered by a Z-drive, which makes the curves narrower the higher the speed. I have set a cruise speed of 9m/s. My problem now is that the boat throttles the speed at the waypoints to 4m/s. However, it should drive a consistent speed. Is it possible to change this with a parameter or is there another possibility.
Let me know if you need more information.

Thank you in advance for your help!

@zelos48, It may help to increase the WP_OVERSHOOT parameter. There’s a request on the to-do list to support boats that plane and thus should not reduce speed below the plane speed.

1 Like

Many Thanks. I think I will try it today. Is there already a beta version in which this parameter is already tested?

Changing the parameter did not solve the problem. However, I have found a way how the speed reduction does not occur. I’ve arranged the waypoints so that he only has to deal with obtuse angles. This allowed me to achieve a sustained speed of about 11m / s.

https://www.file-upload.net/download-13633884/log_89_2019-6-13-09-09-44.bin.html

I am grateful for suggestions for improvement

1 Like

Does anyone have an idea how to fix this huge overshoot?
%C3%9CberschwingenA

Here is my parameter list
2019_06_13.param (13.4 KB)

@zelos48, have you had a chance to turn the steering controller? We’ve got a wiki page here which describes how to tune the steering turn-rate controller.