SITL Installation Problems; - git submodule --init --recursive;

Hey there guys, This is my first post here and I hope to come to you guys with more interesting stuff in the future besides problems. Also, I hope I read and applied the guidelines well. I’m hoping that this solution will help others in time to come too since I’m not the only one on campus encountering this problem. Also, I’m pretty new to linux.

Some prologue information: I’m using a fresh install of Ubuntu 16.04 lts, everything is up to date.

I was following the instructions here:

http://ardupilot.org/dev/docs/setting-up-sitl-on-linux.html

however when I attempt the step:

git submodule --init --recursive

It looks like it works, up until it gets to the last submodule. I attempt to enter it a second time to receive this error:

Cloning into 'libraries/AP_HAL_F4Light/hardware/STM32F4xx_DSP_StdPeriph_Lib_V1.1.0/Libraries'...
fatal: unable to connect to github.com:
github.com[0: 192.30.255.112]: errno=Connection timed out
github.com[1: 192.30.255.113]: errno=Connection timed out
fatal: clone of 'git://github.com/night-ghost/SPL' into submodule path 'libraries/AP_HAL_F4Light/hardware/STM32F4xx_DSP_StdPeriph_Lib_V1.1.0/Libraries' failed 

I tried manually finding the submodule and cloning into the directory myself. This still returns the same error when attempting the git submodule command.

I continued further and followed the subsequent instructions, thinking that maybe my manual placing of the files was correct.

when I enter

sim_vehicle.py -w

This is the output I recieve:

SIM_VEHICLE: Start
SIM_VEHICLE: Killing tasks
SIM_VEHICLE: Starting up at -35.363261,149.165230,584,353 (CMAC)
SIM_VEHICLE: WAF build
SIM_VEHICLE: Configure waf
SIM_VEHICLE: "/home/rconw/ardupilot/modules/waf/waf-light" "configure" "--board" "sitl"
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/rconw/ardupilot/Tools/autotest/sim_vehicle.py", line 995, in <module>
    do_build(vehicle_dir, cmd_opts, frame_infos)