Simulator won't start simulating

Total Newbie here…
I just installed mission planner, followed the tutorial for creating a mission plan with a couple of waypoints. Opened the simulator, picked a plane with quadplane frame. Back in the planner, I selected “write”, the message tab states flight plan received. I set the mode to Qstabilize, and then selected Arm. Message tab states throttle armed. I set the mode to Auto, and in the message tab I see “Mission: 1 WP”, and nothing happens. If it matters, my mission has 2 waypoints, and a RTL. What am I doing wrong? Do I need to actually load a firmware file? I was hoping for an “OOTB simulation”.
Any help is appreciated

• Phil

Did you reboot after setting the frame ? If you don’t the simulation is a regular plane and is not able of doing a vertical takeoff. In Flight data press ctrl+f and reboot, then reconnect in the upper right corner and try again. Also you have to choose a qtakeoff and an alt as a first wp unless you takeoff an other way.

Hi, Alex… thanks for the response! No, I did not reboot after setting the frame. That did seem to get things moving. Question, when you say “Also you have to choose a qtakeoff and an alt as a first wp unless you takeoff an other way.” Do you mean that I should add qtakeoff as the first step in the mission plan, or that I should select qtakeoff as the mode in Flight Data instead of qstabilize? And what does add “alt as a first waypoint” mean?
Thanks again!
-Phil

1 Like

Set AUTO_OPTIONS=3 to allow arming in auto mode and takeoff without raising throttle. This works for Copter and should also work for VTOL takeoff.

Your first waypoint must be QTAKEOFF with a non-zero altitude.

You cannot use QSTABILIZE without connecting a joystick.