Simplest Controller for a Glider

Hi,

as an absolute beginner with drones, I’d like to ardupilotify a simple glider with only two control axes, no motor.
I guess I need

• position (GPS)
  • IMU
  • barometer
  • air speed
  • logging
  • optional telemetry

and as I want to keep it small, light and simple, no redundancy needed.

I looked at the hardware list at Choosing an Autopilot — Plane documentation but got lost with the plethora of models and functions.

I guess a simple controller would inlcude the IMU, barometer and looging (SD card), while position, air speed and telemetry are connected externally, like the servos.

So can anyone reccomend something that fits the bill?

1 Like

You need a flight controller, (that will have baro, IMU, and logging), a GPS, and a receiver. Telemetry, and airspeed are optional.

Many of the matek controllers are good, especially for what you want. F405 will do fine for the project. H7 will be great if you want to move it into something bigger or more advanced down the road. Nearly all the Matek boards have logging.

A pure glider will be hard to tune for a first build since the firmware expects a motor. By no means impossible, people do it all the time. Just a first build might be more straight forward with a motor. My to-do list is already too long, but the Atomic RC Swordfish is on my radar as a good “almost” glider fun build.

https://ardupilot.org/plane/docs/parameters.html#rudder-only-rudder-only-aircraft

https://ardupilot.org/plane/docs/fpv-plane.html#basic-fpv-plane

2 Likes

I can confirm that the foam asw28 from volantex flies beautifully on arduplane with no tuning at all. It is effectively a powered glider and with an fpv setup can thermal to thousands of feet easily, its great fun to be honest.

A true glider will need a bungee or a tow plane or a slope, but the easiest way is a motor.

Don’t be afraid of a four (or more) chanel model as a beginner, in practice it will be easier to fly than a two chanel glider,