Should I set up a RTK Base Station or use NTRIP?

Hello,

I am in the planning stages of automating a mower for my property. I’ve spent hours looking for the answer in the wiki and on these forums.

I have a RC brush cutter on its way from China right now (I am in Ohio). I am familiar with ArduPilot and wrote this article which has been in the documentation for years and helped out a lot of other newbies, but I am new to Rover.

I need centimeter-accurate GPS at my property. There isn’t a base station even in Ohio on the rtk2go network that I can see. I’ve contacted ODOT to see if I can access their RTK network, but I doubt that will happen.

Questions:

1. How do I see a map of free base stations (other than rtk2go) near me? Am I missing something? It doesn’t look like NTRIP is a viable option for me.
  2. If there are no base stations close enough for the accuracy I need, will I need three receivers to set up a base station on my property and two for the rover (f+1 for the roving base station on the vehicle)?

I am south of Chillicothe, OH (45601) for reference.

I appreciate any assistance!

Unless you can use the state managed CORS sites, you probably need to set up a fixed base on your property.

You’ll need a base station capable module for the fixed base. A Zed-F9P based module is easily the most proven hardware for the use case.

I am working on a fixed base application for Raspberry Pi that eases the pain of initial setup. It’s almost ready for release, but I do not want to link it here because changes are frequent, and I want to more formally release it in the near future. Keep an eye out for that if it interests you.