Set param error

I am using Mission Planner 1.3.37 and I am trying to go thru the mandatory hardware calibrations. when I get to the ESC calibration I get the following error message:
"Set param error. Please ensure your version is AC3.3+"
I am trying to set up a hexacopter
my equipment is the following
ardupilot ver 2.8
taranis x9dplus
x8r
anyone know how to fix this?

@tradert55,
ArduCopter v3.3 may not run on the APM2.x due to memory limitations.
Regards,
TCIII GM

I am really new to this and maybe i am misunderstanding but I am using Mission Planer 1.3.37

is this the same thing as AC3.3+ ?

@tradert55,
AC3.3+ is the version of the ArduCopter firmware that you are trying to run on your APM2.8.
Mission Planner is the Ground Control Station.

totally frustrated at this point. first I can get the apm to arm then I cant, checked all parameters that would keep it from arming and they seem to be fine (arming in stabilize mode), then when I did the ESC calibration motors 1thru 4 ran fine but 5 and 6 would not start. So i calibrated 5 and 6 manually now they run but 1 thru 4 wont. Ive uninstalled mission planner and replaced it with earlier versions but that doesnt help either. when i install firmware, ac3.3.3 seems to install fine but mission planner shows the error listed at the start of this thread when i try to do the esc calibration built into mission planner. I have checked and rechecked all wire connections, Ive started new models in my x9d plus so that if there is something i have missed it shouldnt be a factor but still no joy. Does anyone have a clue what im doing wrong? going bald very quickly.

Are you using a Pixhawk or Ardupilot FC? As was stated earlier, Ardupilot cannot run anything above 3.2.1 firmware.