Scripts not Sending GCS Messages

Greetings,

I have been attempting to run Lua scripts through Mission Planner to determine if the GCS is correctly connecting to and running the scripts. I began by writing a very simple program to print ‘Hello World’ to the GCS messages. I don’t think anything is wrong with the program, but I’ll include it anyway:

gcs:send_text(6, 'Hello World!')

I followed the Lua script set-up guide for Mission Planner and have the scripts folder in MAVFtp. However, when I upload my Lua program file into the scripts folder and reboot, nothing happens in the data messages. The SD card I’m using has 4GB, so I believe I meet the minimum SD card requirements.

I’m not sure if this is related, but I do have an error message that reads “Prearm: Terrain out of memory.” I am also vaguely aware of some sort of SITL file/firmware, but I’m not sure if I need this or how to go about acquiring it.

I’m just getting started with ArduPilot, Mission Planner, and Lua, so I honestly have no idea what I’m doing. I’ve tried browsing forums and watching videos, but I haven’t found much explanation that helps with the issues I’m running into.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

1 Like

You confirmed SCR_ENABLE is set to 1?

Yuri just had a great presentation on this very subject you might want to watch.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply! I actually was there for his presentation and was referencing his video before I made this post. The presentation was great, but it hasn’t been able to help with the specific issues I’m having. I have also ensured SCR_ENABLE is set to 1 and have written the parameters, refreshed, and reconnected as needed.

@Yuri_Rage to the rescue.

1 Like

You likely can’t connect fast enough to pick up the message from the example hello_world script.

It should be in your log though. If you set LOG_DISARMED 1 you should see the GCS message in the log.

That example script only sends it once…