Saving/Storing Waypoints for DO_JUMP

Hi, I’m new to Lua scripting and I’m looking for some advice. What I’m currently trying to do is create a function where if I call it, my rover immediately returns to 1 or 2 waypoints behind it (ones it’s already past) in order to make sure when losing a fix that it maintains the exact same line. From what I can tell from testing is that the mission:num_commands() - 1 is a good way to manually set which WP to return to but I’m looking to make it hands free. Here’s the function:

function return_wp()
    local last_wp = mission:num_commands() - 1
    if mission:num_commands() > 1 then
        mission:set_current_cmd(last_wp)
        gcs:send_text(4, 'Heading to last WP')
    end
end

return return_wp()

Any advice and getting current waypoints or is this a limitation of the command? If so, is there another and/or better way to achieve this?

Thanks in advance

Your question is unclear. What do you want to make hands off?

Setting the current command index is exactly how to “fast forward” or “rewind” the mission. There is no need to insert a DO_JUMP.

mission:get_current_nav_index() will return the current waypoint index.

There is a vehicle:get_wp_crosstrack_error() binding to detect crosstrack error, which may be a good condition for your script to monitor.
singleton AP_Vehicle method get_wp_crosstrack_error_m boolean float'Null

It’s important to note that crosstrack error will not simply increase with a degradation in fix type. Crosstrack error is only the difference between the present AHRS location (which could be inaccurate with a poor fix or large HDOP) and the calculated course.

1 Like