RTL does not stop decending

Hi all (ardu) pilots,

I have been flying ardupilot controlled multicopters for many years without any crash. This months, I tried arduplane for the first time. The pixhawk is installed on a 1.2m flying wing that should be converted to a VTOL later. At my first flight, I checked all flight modes and everything was fine.

At my second flight, my video signal was lost so I switched to RTL. At this moment, the wing was already descending but the flight mode did not stop decending. So my wing crashed into ground at 90kph and almost 30 degree angle.

Is this behavoiur normal or do I have to change any params? The plane started cycling but did not stop descending. Please tell me if you need any log files.

I am not sure about the auto anlyzer. It says compass fail although I calibrated the compass before successfully. I says GPS fail altough I had good signal at arming and take-off. I think it failed after crashing.

The green part on google earth is RTL, the orange part ist manual.

Thanks

Please post the dataflash log so we can see all the parameters and data streams – not just your screenshots.

For sure…here it is. Could not upload on this page. Here is the link

Password: apmlog

Could anyone find out anything?

You never went to RTL mode.

Your plane was always in manual mode till around 10 meters altitude , till then ATT.DesPitch is aways at zero, after, the plane had a very high pitch attitude, it tries to recover but finally crashed.

How do you mean I never went to RTL mode? The GPS log and parameters show “RTL”.

What has ATT.DesPitch to do with RTL? I thought it is only for pilot’s inputs. From docs: “The pilot’s desired pitch angle in degrees (pitch forward is negative, pitch back is positive)”.

I cannot see where the plane tries to recover. Rate of decent seems to be constant. And it did not stall because it was still fast.