RTK-FIX status indicator on automatous mower

I wanted a real time RTK-FIX status indicator on my automatous mower. This is a LED beacon that is visible in bright sunlight. If it’s ON then I have RTK-Fix if it’s OFF then I don’t. This uses a LUA script to control an AUX port for a relay. I used the AUX signal to control a LED driver circuit that controls the LED. If the signal is HIGH the LED is ON. I used a water-clear LED so it’s easier to tell when it’s ON in sunlight. The 3D printed “lighthouse” LED holder and LED driver PCB artwork can be found on my Thingiverse channel: OTandAT RTK Lighthouse Beacon for my Rover Mower by OTandAT - Thingiverse
Many thanks to Yuri Rage for his videos and examples. (I’m new to LUA)

local SCRIPT_NAME = 'RTKrelay'
local RELAY_NUM = 2
local MIN_FIX_NUM = 6   
local GPS_INSTANCE = 0  
-- GPS Instance RTK Fixed = 6
function update()
local fix_type = gps:status(GPS_INSTANCE)
    if fix_type >= MIN_FIX_NUM then 	
	gcs:send_text(0, "Relay ON")  -- delete if you don't want the HUD spammed with Relay ON msg.
    	relay:on(RELAY_NUM)     	
	else	
	gcs:send_text(0, "Relay OFF") 
	relay:off(RELAY_NUM)
        end 
return update,1000	
		end
return update(),1000

(hope the pic works)

1 Like

A couple of tweaks for efficiency’s sake (along with fixing the GCS message severity, correcting the syntax error on the last line, and making use of the previously unused SCRIPT_NAME variable). Now you won’t spam the GCS with text, even if you leave the send_text() calls intact.

local SCRIPT_NAME = 'RTKrelay'
local RELAY_NUM = 2
local MIN_FIX_STATE = 6
local GPS_INSTANCE = 0

local prev_fix_state = 0

function update()
    local fix_state = gps:status(GPS_INSTANCE)

if fix_state ~= prev_fix_state then
        prev_fix_state = fix_state

if fix_state < MIN_FIX_STATE then
            gcs:send_text(6, ('%s: Fix state (%d) below minimum'):format(SCRIPT_NAME, fix_state))
            relay:off(RELAY_NUM)
            return update, 1000
        end