Request for PH2.1 + ProfiCNC Power Module Help

I’m new to Pixhawk 2 and I’m setting up the ProfiCNC power module for the first time. I can calibrate the voltage easily enough, but the current is another matter.

My setup: PH2.1 with ProfiCNC power module, TBS Disco, 4S 5200mAh LiPo, Aikon 4-in-1 ESC, Firmware: APM Copter V3.5.3, MP version: 1.3.50.3 beta.

Unrelated hardware: Runcam Eagle, MinimOSD, ImmersionRC 600mW VTX, Here GNSS, Dragonlink MicroRX.

I’ve tried selecting the ProfiCNC HV Power Module in MP. It consistently reads 1-2 Amps low, across the range of 1-20 Amps. I’ve tried selecting “Other” for sensor type. I can pick a current set-point and get an accurate current reading at that point, but nowhere else. It seems to me that my use-case is not uncommon. I’m not sure why I’m having difficulty with this.

I’ve also noticed that only the motor current draw shows up in the calculated current. With PH1 and the old 3DR power module, I would see a draw around 1.2 Amp, sitting on the bench, with all on-board electronics powered and running. Does the ProfiCNC power module regulator connect to battery power before or after the current-sense resistor?

I’m also having a hard time finding self-help information about this power module. Is it open-source, or has the project changed direction? If I could find a schematic and BOM for the power module I could probably figure out the voltage-current multiplier and offset. Otherwise, I’m just flailing around.

If there is another way to manually calibrate this sensor, I’d love to know. I have access to a full microelectronics design verification lab, with calibrated electronic load, precision meters, 'scopes, etc.

Many thanks in advance for any information!

Chris

1 Like

I think I have a passable solution. I thought I would share, since I’m not the only person having this issue.