Recommendation for Beginner Rover Setup

Hi All !
I have an aspirational goal to turn my kids ride-on car into an autonomous lawn mower! I’ve been tinkering with arduino and done other things, so i’m not a total nube… I’ve been reading lots of the ardupiliot guides and hardware options and researching rtk. I’m really excited about the ardusimple board, but before i dive in deep with the inve$tment i thought I’d start with a basic setup… I am new to ardupilot and pixhawk.

I’ve found all the parts I think i need to get going, but I’d love someone to check me out and let me know if I’m doing something dumb - or inexperienced. Here’s what I’m looking at:

A Pixhawk (i believe it’s the original version?) - $28
A radio unit - $20
A NEO-M8N - $22 - I’m assuming this is gps and antenna?
A power module - $7

I have a cytron smartdriveduo-30 motor driver and a ps2 RC Controller - Will this work with this pixhawk?

I’d love an experienced eye to help me out and tell me where i’m going wrong.

Many, many thanks!
David - from central CT.

My work-in-progress stripped kids card turned into a big RC car. :smile:

David,
Welcome to autonomous Rover fun! More experienced folks can jump in behind me with more info and/or corrections, but I’ll try to help.

1. The ebay description and picture of the Pixhawk seems to indicate it includes a power module, so you may not need that item on your list.