RAW 420 RTL Yaw Spin Crash

Hey everyone! I’m new to this, and I’m leading a senior design team at my university using autonomous helicopters.

We had a crash that was pretty interesting last week: our Goblin RAW 420 was flying fine in stabilize mode, then we got a compass variance error, EKF error, and yaw imbalance 32% error.

We put it in return to home and all of a sudden it started spinning very fast about the yaw axis. In the gdrive is the bin file, a video of the crash, and the current settings on Mission Planner for the Helo (too big to attach here).

I’m stuck trying to figure out what’s wrong, and don’t have the money to be able to fly again until we have the answer to what in the software is making it spin so weirdly. My best guess is that there is possible magnetic interference from the direct drive motor causing compass variance issues? But that shouldn’t make it spin like this, right?

Any help that you guys could give me would be much appreciated!
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1fpCPrr4UyO1okB3qc_rsUTU_Gfh230RY?usp=sharing

By the way, we are using a Pixhawk 6C Mini FC Module Flight Controller STM32H743 Processor with PM02-12S Power Module and M8N GPS. The GPS/Compass is tail-boom mounted and is about 6 inches from the motor. The Pixhawk is installed in the belly of the fuselage directly under the motor.

These photos are taken after the crash, but it’ll show where the fc and gps are mounted if that helps diagnose this at all.

Vibrations are a big issue. Enough that the IMUs are clipping. I would say it’s a balance problem given the axis (X&Y), but it could also be related to how the FC is mounted to the airframe. This can cause the EKF errors. This is a mechanical issue and would need to be addressed before getting too far into any firmware problems.